Interfacing with Evap A/C

Hey All,

I am new to the world of arduino so I apologise if I ask some silly questions :P

I am looking at interfacing an arduino with my A/C but need some help on the hardware side of things. The A/C has a heap of control lines going from the unit on the wall up to the unit in the roof, these lines change voltage based on what mode for the A/C is in (all lines are 18.1v when the unit is "off") The fan speed controller line then drops between 11.14V and 5.77V depending on the speed of the fan, the higher the voltage the slower the fan.

So firstly I want to create a circuit (voltage divider) to take the line and reduce it to a voltage that wont blow up my arduino. I can use a 1k and 330 ohm resistor to do this, however this will change the voltage on the fan speed line and cause the fan to go faster (which is not what i want to do). So I started looking at adding an op-amp as a voltage follower but being so green in this area I though I would hit the forums for some help.

Below is my Circuit Diagram any help would be great.

TIA Slampt

Sorry, being a new poster I could not post links on my first post :frowning:
Here it is now

Thanks

all lines are 18.1v when the unit is "off"

AC or DC?

Whoops, DC :stuck_out_tongue:

Just a little more info,

I think these Op-amps should fit the bill.

http://www.jaycar.com.au/products_uploaded/ZL3074.pdf

Thoughts?

Thanks
Slampt

Something to keep in mind is that it's likely the power supply for that module isn't regulated, and the fand speed controller isn't dependent on a very precise voltage. You may be seeing 18.1V today, but it could be 17V, or 20V, next week or next year. So trying to simply divide down that voltage could wind up producing an excessive input to the Arduino.