Internal RC Oscillator

Hey all!

I’m kind of new to this so please bear with me.

I’ve made a board that is running an ATMeag328p, same as the UNO.

The thingamabob is battery powered so I want to draw as little power as possible, one of the easiest ways to save power is to run of a lower voltage and reduce the clock speed.

I’m running of 3v3 and I want to run of the internal RC oscillator at 1MHz, luckily according to the datasheet it comes with the "CKDIV8" fuse set, so it will be running at the right speed from the factory.

I won’t be using the Optiboot bootloader since I’ll be programming it directly with my programmer. What setting do I have to change to the "boards.txt" to not override this and program it normally but running the internal clock at 1MHz. I’m assuming that boards.txt is a substitute for a full sized Makefile.

I posted the added board instance below.

Thanks in advanced

uno1mhz.name=ATMega328P_1MHz

uno1mhz.vid.0=0x2341
uno1mhz.pid.0=0x0043
uno1mhz.vid.1=0x2341
uno1mhz.pid.1=0x0001
uno1mhz.vid.2=0x2A03
uno1mhz.pid.2=0x0043
uno1mhz.vid.3=0x2341
uno1mhz.pid.3=0x0243

uno1mhz.upload.tool=avrdude
uno1mhz.upload.protocol=arduino
uno1mhz.upload.maximum_size=32256
uno1mhz.upload.maximum_data_size=2048
uno1mhz.upload.speed=115200

uno1mhz.bootloader.tool=avrdude
uno1mhz.bootloader.low_fuses=0xFF
uno1mhz.bootloader.high_fuses=0xDE
uno1mhz.bootloader.extended_fuses=0xFD
uno1mhz.bootloader.unlock_bits=0x3F
uno1mhz.bootloader.lock_bits=0x0F
uno1mhz.bootloader.file=optiboot/optiboot_atmega328.hex

uno1mhz.build.mcu=atmega328p
uno1mhz.build.f_cpu=1000000L
uno1mhz.build.board=AVR_UNO
uno1mhz.build.core=arduino
uno1mhz.build.variant=standard

http://www.engbedded.com/fusecalc/?P=ATmega328P

I suggest adding "Preserve EEPROM memory through the Chip Erase cycle; [EESAVE=0]".

With no brown-out your gadget will run the battery very dead and will very likely stop working correctly if the voltage drops below 1.6 V. However, the brown-out consumes energy.