Interrupts for a servo

Hi All,

This is my first time posting on the forums. I am comfortable with the programming but the I am unsure if my current approach will work well.

I want to control a servo that will move to a few different degrees at different speeds but if it were to receive an interrupt on pin 2/3 I would want it to stop and go back to the original position (0 deg). I wanted to find out if this is possible at all.

i.e. If I tell a servo to move 90 deg but at 45 deg it receives and interrupt would the servo stop moving so that the interrupt function can say move back to 0 deg?

If you look at the servo sweep example that comes with the Arduino IDE you will see how a servo can be made to move step by step. You could arrange for your code to be able to change the "destination" between any of the steps.

The word "interrupt" has a very specific meaning for computers and I don't know is that's how you mean it - or whether you just use the word in a general sense to mean "get it to do something else".

If you are unfamiliar with them I suggest you don't bother using Arduino interrupts unless you have no choice. Using interrupts can give rise to all sorts of complicated problems that are hard to debug. In most cases the Arduino repeats things fast enough that (for example) a switch can be tested and acted upon without the need for interrupts.

...R

Hi Robin,

Thank you for your reply and I apologize for not replying sooner. I do understand the difference between the two interrupts in a very general sense.

I am in the process of a building a device that will function with animals as part of my labwork.

The idea is to have the servo tilt a platform at some designated degrees +/- ~20 from the stationary position (does this already). If I receive the correct response from the test animal even mid tilt then it should stop and return to the starting position.