Intro

Hi all. Couldn’t locate an intro section here so hope you don’t mind me jumping straight into this forum.
I’m Neil, social worker in the day, freelance software and hardware engineer by night.

I’m new to Arduino but not new to embedded systems. My background is in PIC and VB, so I’m currently learning how to translate the program structure and instruction set. One thing I’ve found so far is how handy it is to have one IDE to develop both the micro program and windows end at the same time, so I’m not constantly syntax bombing between MP-LAB and VB.NET!

I’ve ordered an UNO to mess about with, and a couple of bootloaded SMD versions for hard coding into projects I’d already had in mind for a PIC. Plus, something I have never owned in my entire life, a breadboard! My age means that my school days weren’t graced with the whole breadboard experience, we did everything on fibreglass boards with fiddly little springs, so thanks Arduino guys for opening my eyes to that too!

I get some of the serial stuff already, the last PIC I developed on was a 16F628A, which has no UART, so that was a bit of a nightmare coding the delays needed for bit-banging, which is why I started my search for a UART enabled PIC. Eventually though, destiny or luck sent me to an Arduino tutorial where my eyes were opened before I had chance to spend my money on any more microchip products.