Invalid Conversion from 'const char' to 'char' [-fpermissive]

Hey all, I’m fairly new to coding, but have completed a couple of projects succesfully. The newest one I am working on is giving me an incredible amount of frustration. I am working on a LED light that will be put inside a cloud (made of cotton) that will randomly change the RGB value of the led based on the weather patern the arduino randomly chooses. The problem I am having is choosing the weather type and then assigning it to a variable that I can then use to modify the LED is not working properly and I have absolutely NO idea why. The excerpt of the code is as follows:

const char *weatherDay[] = {"clearDay", "overcastDay", "rainyDay", "stormyDay"}; //The types of weather that can happen during the day.
 const char *weatherNight[] = {"clearNight", "overcastNight", "rainyNight", "stormyNight"}; //The types of weather that can happen during the night.   
 char weather = "clearDay";

void setup() 
{
 Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  int r = random(3);
  weather = weatherDay[r];
  Serial.print(weather);  
  delay(5000);   
}

I will have different settings for day and night, but am not as concerned with that at this time as just trying to successfuly pull a string from the weatherNight array and assign it to weather at this time.
The problem is I am getting the “warning: invalid conversion from ‘const char*’ to ‘char’ [-fpermissive]” error when trying to compile. I tried looking this up, but have no idea what it is, why I am getting it, or how to fix it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I changed them to strings and it worked... but i've read that strings eat up way more memory? If there is a better way to do this, I am open to suggestions!

Thanks!

Declare weather as a pointer

const char *weatherDay[] = {"clearDay", "overcastDay", "rainyDay", "stormyDay"}; //The types of weather that can happen during the day.