iPhone programmer needs guidance on getting set up with Arduino

Hey everyone. I am a self-taught iOS dev. I'm into sensors and similar stuff, but I mainly just want to learn computer organization in a hands on way with the Arduino.

I want to get better at C and learn Assembly language - I have seen online tutorials and books that focus on Assembly for the Arduino ATMega chips.

What kit should I buy? What board specifically?

The Due uses the ARM chip, which is the same instruction set as the iOS devices so that seems like a good fit for my career going forward. I am not sure there are beginner level ARM Assemby tutorials out there though.

Advice is greatly appreciated.

What kit should I buy?

What do you want to build/do?

What board specifically?

For what project?

The Due uses the ARM chip

Corn chips are better.

which is the same instruction set as the iOS devices so that seems like a good fit for my career going forward.

There really aren't all that many jobs for Assembly language programmers. Being able to develop applications will make you more marketable.

I am not sure there are beginner level ARM Assemby tutorials out there though.

Assembly language programming and beginner only belong in the same sentence where there is a "no way" involved somewhere.
You really need to understand one (or more) high level programming languages before you can begin to appreciate what assembly language programming is all about, and the pros and cons of doing programming that way.

Well, I already know Obj C and a bit of Java and those are high-level language. I just want to learn more about computer technology at a lower level since iOS programming allows you to drop down to C or Assembly for greater control, but there isn't a whole lot of iOS specific stuff hence me playing around with Arduino.