IR LED Issue

Hi all,

Another noob post, so, sorry in advance.

I'm attempting to follow the tutorial posted here: IR Communication - learn.sparkfun.com

Currently, I have everything up and running fine--except the transmission part. I can't tell if the IR LED itself is being activated or not, but, based on my research (and trying to use my smartphone's camera), it doesn't appear that it is.

I'm fairly new to this whole game, so I thought perhaps my soldering job was bad (I'm not using a breadboard; just solid core wiring), so I tried a second one. Still no dice. And given that my other joins are working, I'm hard pressed to believe that's the issue.

Perhaps it's a contact issue in the header? I'm not really sure how to tell. I've also read that using a multimeter in this case might be troublesome.

As it is, I have the Arduino wired up exactly as in the diagram in the link above. Specifically, the IR LED has a ground (from the short arm of the IR LED) to GND (next to the Digital pins), and the long arm (with the 330ohm resistor) is plugged into pin 3 (for PWM).

When I hit the button, I can confirm that the "sendCode" function (from the sample sketch) is firing.

Any advice on how to further troubleshoot would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any replies, and for your patience.

and trying to use my smartphone's camera

Despite the advice on the internet, this is no longer a reliable way to tell. Modern smartphone cameras now filter out IR light so you can no longer see this in a 'video' of the event.

Have you tried replacing the IR LED with a normal LED and just setting the output to on to see if it lights up? When that works, the IR LED should come on providing the software is correct.

BTW, just because you say you followed the example in wiring, etc, we can't tell. Often it is in your particular setup that there are problems, for which you have provided us no details.