IR LED's or PhotoSensor or what

OK getting ready to start my project. Well I'm going to have balls rolling down this clear tubing I want every time one passes to add it to a count and display how many go by onto a LED Board.

Parts list I have

Arduino mega 2560

Red Common Anode 4-Segment Digital Tube Display For Arduino UNO from ebay

the two pack infrared led transmitter and receiver from radioshack.

clear tubing for the balls to roll down into their container.

These may be coming down kinda fast. like 5balls/sec.

I am new to the arduino but have some java and html experience. So I'm not ignorant to coding all together.

I just want to know, are these even going to be able to keep up with roughly 5/s and is infrared the way to go or does anyone have any other ideas. Oh and point me towards a tutorial that might give me a little help too, that would be nice.

like the garage door things that keep from killing kids. When the stream is broken it goes back up. I just want mine to add +1 to my LED board....

What are the balls made of? Metal balls could just make a momentary contact, iron or steel balls could be detected magnetically. Your Arduino can certainly detect events less than 200 milliseconds apart (= 5+ per second).

That would be nice No metallic properties to them them of them like an airsoft bb

skylerdprahl: That would be nice No metallic properties to them them of them like an airsoft bb

As I've no idea what an airsoft bb is, or is made of, I'm sorry I can't help.

yes it should be possible.

One approach would be to use a TSOP4038 or TSOP58038 light barrier IR receiver & TSAL6100 IR LED (or equivalents)

They would have to facing each other across a diameter of the tube (barrel?), using a modulated pulse of 500 -> 1000 uSecs

Would need to know a bit more like velocity, indoors/outdoors/level of ambient light, tube, mounting etc ...as there could be pitfalls.