IR receiver Issue

I have been working with an Ir receiver for a few months now and have had one major issue. While trying to use the IRRECV demo program I do not get any results on the serial monitor. Please help me figure out if it is the wiring or the code.

!(https://forum.arduino.cc/Users/Student/Desktop/Photo on 11-1-16 at 12.01 PM.jpg)

This is the code:

#include <IRremote.h>

int RECV_PIN = 11;

IRrecv irrecv(RECV_PIN);

decode_results results;

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
irrecv.enableIRIn(); // Start the receiver
}

void loop() {
if (irrecv.decode(&results)) {
Serial.println(results.value, HEX);
irrecv.resume(); // Receive the next value
}
delay(100);
}

Do you have the baud menu at the bottom right of the Serial Monitor set to 9600?

A very important troubleshooting technique you need to learn is adding debug serial prints so you can get an idea what’s happening. With your current code there are a number of possible issues such as:

• Serial Monitor isn’t working
  • Printing results.value isn’t working
  • irrecv.decode(&results) is never true
  • The program is causing the Arduino to lock up before it ever prints anything.
  • The Arduino is in a constant reset loop

By adding debug prints throughout the code you can narrow down the cause of the problem:

#include <IRremote.h>

int RECV_PIN = 11;

IRrecv irrecv(RECV_PIN);

decode_results results;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println(F("setup"));
  irrecv.enableIRIn(); // Start the receiver
}

void loop() {
  Serial.println(F("loop"));
  if (irrecv.decode(&results)) {
    Serial.print(F("results.value="));
    Serial.println(results.value, HEX);
    irrecv.resume(); // Receive the next value
  }
  delay(100);
}

When the program is working correctly you can comment out these debug statements or there are some techniques for being able to turn them on and off easily.