IR sensor for traffic density?

Hello guys, new and noob here,

I was thinking a new proyect to measure the traffic flow. I want to put the device up the traffic light and with sensors looking down to the asphalt.

I'm not sure about what sensors use. IR sensors look good choice for me atm, but I dont know if there are some of them to detect 3~5m distance.

Any ideas?

Edit- Sorry, I just notice I posted in wrong subforum :/. Move it, plz

I'm not sure first off where it would be legal for a civilian to put anything on a traffic signal, assuming we are talking about one that is owned by the transportation department and not something privately owned. But if somehow you have gained permission to do so, I can think of a few different ways one might set up a counter that could do the job of determining a rough idea of traffic density over time. I'm not sure an infrared sensor would be the best choice for this given the distance to the ground, generally these are used for determining very short distances and changes in reflectivity such as seen on line follower robots and sumo-bots. Ultrasonic rangefinders depending on the type can be relatively accurate up to about 9 meters, and if you take several measurements from the sensor, or take measurements from multiple sensors, you can determine an average across all of the readings, assuming they will sometimes return an odd number.