IR sensors - "Avoiding obstacle robot"

Hi guys,
Could you help me?
I would like to develop an “avoiding obstacles robot” but I have some doubts and problems.
I want to place two IR transmitters and 1 IR detector forward (like the ones in the photo) and other two IR transmitters and 1 IR detector backward.

• Do you think this solution can work?
  • In order to allow the robot to avoid all the obstacles situated along its path without any interruptions , what is in your opinion the best solution?
    Thank you so much in advance for your help!

Andrea :wink:

Hi there

I am a noob. So take my words under caution!

I am also making a similar one and hooked up 3 distance sensors, 1 facing directly forwards and two facing diagonally to rt and lt. This way I can scan for a safety corridor ahead.

At present I can scan for the clearance fairly well with it but am fighting with triggering all sensors with one digital pin just to save pins for other purposes.

I am using HCSR04 distance sensors. The ones that look like bug eyes.

I did not think of using IR. Wont it get absorbed in a unpredictable way with all the materials around the house and make it hard to judge obstacles. Remember I am a noob.

Good luck.

Dear Skodela,
thank you so much for your reply!
What do you think about the backward sensors?
Do you think are unnecessary?
Thanks again,

Andrea

Hi there

After reading your post I went and ordered the IR sensors to play.

With regards to sensor backwards, it really depends on your application. In my case I did not put a sensor behind since I am planning to make it run forwards, if it finds an obstacle it will reverse a little - just where it has been before so there should be no new static obstacles, then make a turn and go forward until clear. This is of course not completely reliable.