IR triggered LED matrix

Hi all!

I am trying to build two mirrored LED drawing boards for a school project. Basically the idea is that whatever you draw on one instantly appears on the other and vice versa.

My first idea was to use a pixart sensor out of a wii remote to track a pen with an IR LED in it and map the XY position to an LED matrix and just mirror that onto a second matrix. But seeing as I've only got a couple of weeks to build this, and I'm a noob when it comes to both electronics and programming, my lecturer advised me to come up with something a little simpler..

I'm thinking I could also use IR sensors for each individual LED and just build something like: when sensor A is triggered, LED A is lit in both matrices. But to do this I would need sensors with a very low range and narrow angle to avoid the entire board lighting up as soon as the pen approaches it. Also I'm not sure if it's even possible to use the row-column-scanning principal to read from a matrix of IR sensors. Not to mention whether I should use photodiodes or phototransistors or something else..

If anyone would be so kind to help me figure out the best way to approach this project, I'd be very much obliged. Thanks in advance!

Cheers, Dan

my lecturer advised me to come up with something a little simpler..

Good advice, I think you are still thinking too complex. Getting an LED matrix of reasonable resolution is more than a couple of weeks work let alone linking them with sensors.

How about a radius arm pantograph for the drawing input with motors on a matching pantograph for the mirrored output?

It is the June 83 article I wrote which describes the basics here:- http://www.doc.mmu.ac.uk/STAFF/A.Wiseman/Acorn/BodyBuild/BB83.html

Grumpy_Mike: How about a radius arm pantograph for the drawing input with motors on a matching pantograph for the mirrored output?