IR trip wire/barrier

I'm attempting to use a TSSP4038 and a TSAL6200 to create an infrared trip wire. The trip wire only needs to be about 16" across. I've tried to pulse the emitter at 38kHz using tone() but I can't seem to get it working correctly. The circuit sort of works if I use continuous power to the emitter, which I can get up to about 7inches, so I'm fairly sure I have everything set up correctly.

I have a 555 timer I could use as well, but I've never used one before and just wanted to test the distance of the trip wire first. According to the data sheets I should be able to get up to 25 meters, so I would think 1 and a half feet should be easy.

Does ambient sunlight/ceiling light make a big difference? Any other tips? I have found pretty limited information online, but any good resource would be very helpful. Thanks.

How are you driving the emitter? A schematic would help. You can have the emitter inside a tube to shield it from some ambient light as well as make it more directional. Same with the detector.

You may find this useful:

I generate a 38Khz 50% duty cycle using the registers.

DDRB = 0
         | (1 << PB1); //Set pin PB1 as output

OCR1C = 12;    // Counter Max...clock cycles before pin is toggled.

TCCR1 = 0
          | (1 << COM1A0) //Bits 5 and 4 of TCCR1 (COM1A0 and COM1A1) indicate what to do when comparator == counter
          | (0 << COM1A1)  // When A0 is 1 and A1 is 0, the pin is toggled on a compare.
          | (0 << CS13)
          | (1 << CS12)  // Table 12-5. Timer/Counter1 Prescale Select. Divides the Clock by an amount.
          | (0 << CS11)
          | (0 << CS10);

This is using an ATtiny85 but the principle should apply with any ATMEL chip (check the register names).

Can you see the IR light with your mobile phone camera?

Hopefully this schematic is readable.

I'm using a mega2560 if that means anything.