ir with tv remote control

Hi,

I am very new at this and I have till Dec 6th to finish my art project. I want to be able to use a TV remote control with the arduino board to turn on the lights and a motor. I have bought a SIS 1, IR Detector module and have no idea on how to integrate that in or write the codes. I have the Diecimila board, a shield, plenty of bread boards, a couple of remote controls. Any ideas or help would be great!

A very stressed student.
Janet Z

Hi Janet-

I’m not sure how much you already know about how IR signals are transmitted from the Remote and received by the detector, but I found this document (meant to controll the Parallax BoeBot with a remote) very useful when I was trying to figure out a similar project a few years ago. The code is not for an Arduino, but it should get you started and wouldn’t be very difficult to translate.

Wow, looks complicated but I will try it. My only experience so far is to make blinking lights with the arduino board but I am a fast learner. My question is should I put the Sony code in before the blink code? I want the remote to control the board so the lights should be off and blink when you push the remote control. Hopefully I get the stepper motor to work too and it should work in this order, push the remote, the stepper motor spins, stop, and then the lights blink, stop, and then the 2nd set of lights will blink, then off.

Thanks for all your help!
Janet Z

Sony IR signals are the easiest to decode; I’ve done it with the BASIC Stamp, the SX (I used to work for Parallax), and now I’ve ported the code to Arduino. Give this a try (it worked with my Sony remote):

// --------------------------------------
// SIRCS (Sony IR Control System) Monitor
//
// Jon McPhalen
// www.jonmcphalen.com
// 30 NOV 2007
// --------------------------------------

int irPin = 7;

void setup()
{
  pinMode(irPin, INPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
  delay(25);
  Serial.println("SIRCS Monitor\n");
}

void loop()
{
  int key;