Irrelevant Resistor Value for LED?

Hi, I'm new to electronics and am trying to learn. I have an Arduino Uno R3 and the basic starter kit from Arduino. I am running the Blink sketch, but replacing the 220ohm resistor with higher values such as 1k, 1M, and 10M. I expected that the Red LED would dim as I used higher resistors, but I can not see any noticeable difference. Is this normal? Does the resistor value actually matter? I looked at the datasheet for the RED LED and seeing that it has an internal 12v resistor. Is this the reason why I'm not seeing a difference?

Question #2) I thought that running the program without a resistor would burn out the LED, but it doesn't. Is the internal 12v resistor the cause of this?

Question #3) If the internal resistor resists 12v, and the output of digital pin 8 is only 5v, why is the LED lighting up at all?

Question #4) From my research, I've read that the digital pin could become damaged without a resistor. So, if I use a green LED, which doesn't list an internal resistor, I would probably damage the LED and the digital pin, correct?

Cheers!

I expected that the Red LED would dim as I used higher resistors, but I can not see any noticeable difference. Is this normal?

No. I would not expect a resistor of 1M to make no difference, are you sure it is wired correctly.

Does the resistor value actually matter?

Yes

seeing that it has an internal 12v resistor.

Sorry there is no such thing. Resistors are measured in ohms and not volts. However that is a very poorly worded data sheet. It does indeed say 12V resistor. What it means is a resistor to limit the current to the maximum permitted if you feed it with 12V. While not unheard of such LEDs are not very common.

Question #2) I thought that running the program without a resistor would burn out the LED, but it doesn't. Is the internal 12v resistor the cause of this?

Yes.