Is arduino the right choice?!!

I don’t know if it is really the right place to put this thread.

Anyway, I’m an undergraduate Physics student third year. I had a course on electronics “Circuit analysis, diodes, transistors, mosfet, op-amp and something I forgot”, I had also a course on c++ (numbering systems, basics, control statements, some manipulations, files, arrays, … ) I think it covers the most basic and needed skills for a programmer journey.

As a science geek ><, I think it’s a good Idea to learn arduino programming and use it, it may help me doing some kind of physics projects (doing it myself from scratch will be impossible since I don’t have the enough knowledge in micro-controllers)

The thing is, that I feel somehow it is no use learning arduino because it’s not efficient !! what do you think?
it’s also confusing, I searched for good references for arduino programming it always seems too too basic, and it do not go in depth that much.

Arduino and c/c++ knowledge is not a bad choice. As a physicist you should appreciate the sensors/actuators that you can access from the Arduino platform, and then move into using any microcontroller evaluation board or system.

On the software side, a single course in programming doesn't give you much insight into the power of data structures, inheritance, and abstraction that you have at your fingertips. In a few years when you have graduated this kind of knowledge will help your career. If you can't squeeze in a course in these you might do well with some disciplined self-study. Knowledge of how to use existing libraries and networking would also be of great benefit. Whatever "efficiency" is, it is trumped by abstraction (Moore's Law is your friend).

Arduino is programming, many of the details are hidden because it is so easy to get started, but you are free to study all the libraries that come with it to understand what is happening.