Is "delay(ms);" working properly? FIXED!!!

I'm new to Arduino programming but very experienced in general C++. This is an oddity to me, hope it is known to some of you.

I have a largeish program which compiles and runs perfectly. If I add in a line: "delay(25);" it won't build. If I comment out only that line it is fine again. With verbose reporting on everything looks fine until the linker when it reports:

collect2.exe: error: ld returned 5 exit status

exit status 1
Error compiling for board Arduino/Genuino Mega or Mega 2560.

I'm told the "ld" shows a linker error, hope that's correct. I wasn't aware that delay(ms) needed a #include, it has worked for me in the past with simple "hello world" stuff. Can anyone advise me as to what is wrong?

EDIT: Should have said this is on Windows XP. I know there has been some discussion re delay(ms) on Linux.

Are you using either Windows XP or Windows 10?

There was a compiler bug that caused the error (seemingly at random, so actually nothing to do with the delay function). Originally it only happened with Windows XP (so there was no incentive for a fix), but recently it started happening sometimes with Windows 10.

There is now a bugfix version of the IDE to correct this.

BTW. See the test build here: Update bundled tools by facchinm · Pull Request #5863 · arduino/Arduino · GitHub

This build fixed the problem for me. :slight_smile:

Thanks for the replies Stuart. (Looking through them, your fame goes before you! :slight_smile: )

I tried to post an edit to my original post to say what Windows version I was using as I realised it may be a factor. The system wouldn’t let me post it for 5 minutes and we must have passed posts while waiting. My apologies.

The links in the link you posted just come up with Error 404 for me! I’m not having lot of luck today. Could that mean that the work is either retracted or already in place?