Is it possible to have 2 one-way RS485 connections on a single serial board?

Hi

I’m new to arduino with no prior experience of it. I’m fairly good at picking up new coding languages on the fly and I’m in the ‘research before buy’ stage of a new project which will heavily involve arduinos…
What I’m looking to achieve is kind of like a network of sensor networks (not just a sensor network - see attached, crude image where straight line is hardwired connection, curved line is wireless connection)

The sensors I’m looking at using state an output of RS485 (no info on protocols etc so I’m assuming there’s a single standard RS485 protocol?)

those sensors will output a lot of data constantly so to prevent network congestion I’m thinking of having a ‘sensor arduino’ connected to each sensor using an rs485 module to receive all the data and then any relevant data can be sent via another rs485 module to a ‘control arduino’ which will receive the relevant data from all the connected ‘sensor arduinos’ (and output further data wirelessly via possibly zigbee to the wider network and also bluetooth to a local tablet).

For the ‘control arduino’ I’m looking at a mega as this has 4 serial ports so should be ok to take 3 serial connections. (Please advise me if I’m wrong on this conclusion)

As for the ‘sensor arduinos’ as there will be a lot of them (approx 200 if this were being implemented in the project I’ve just finished) I am looking to keep it as low cost as possible and as receiving RS485 data and relaying a fraction of that on in a formatted manner (adding address etc) in RS485 I wont need any GPIOs (except maybe one for a buzzer and one for a button for setup purposes) I thought an uno (or micro??) would be fine but its the serial in and serial-out-somewhere-else that I’m concerned about.