Is it safe to use 5V and 12V with common ground? (very beginner)

Hi all, this is my first post here, and my second day with Arduino and with electronics, so I’m really a beginner, also not a native english speaker (let me know if something doesn’t make any sense).

I tried to do my best to share my thoughts and ask the correct questions, but I’m sure I made some huge mistakes, please excuse me.

This is my “Hello World” project, I have:

• An Arduino Due
  • A biploar stepper motor from a DVD driver
  • An Easy Driver stepper motor driver (v4.2)
  • A TowerPro 9g micro servo (SG90)
  • An old ATX PSU (Enermax Liberty ELT500AWT 500W)
  • A chunk of jumper cable, a breadboard, lots of free time and big plans

I’d like to control the stepper motor and the servo via USB. The program is working (basic SerialPort buffer writing with C#), everything looks good, but I’m afraid I’ll fry something because of the different voltages.

I read that I should not use the 5V pin on Arduino because the Due based on 3.3V. Since I didn’t want to use batteries or multiple DC adapters for different voltages, I transformed my old ATX PSU to a DIY lab power supply unit. It has all the required voltages (3.3V, 5V, 12V). With this solution I don’t need to use any power pin or VIN on Arduino, only the digital ports and the GND (magic smoke stays inside the chip hopefully).

The micro servo uses 5V, and the EasyDriver uses 12V. I simply wired all the different voltages and the ground to a breadboard and I try to use the optimal one for each component. This is how it looks like currently: