Is My Project Feasible?

Hi, I'm looking to build my first big Arduino project. What I'm planning on doing is basically upping the scale on some very simple circuits and code. My main concern is whether or not this project would work, mainly in the sense of a power supply...

I would like to have 512 buttons, 512 leds, 64 74HC595's (shift out), and 64 74HC165N's (shift in). Basically it would be an array of 512 buttons being brought into Arduino then corresponding LEDs lighting up when buttons are pressed.

What I'm concerned about is my power supply, and whether or not at 5V power supply can adequately light up 512 leds. (I have no electronics background)

Thanks!

What I'm concerned about is my power supply, and whether or not at 5V power supply can adequately light up 512 leds. (I have no electronics background)

5vdc power supplies come in all sizes of current. How big you need kind of depends on how you use your leds as if you want to be able to have them all powered on at the same time then that's over 10 amp just for the leds, at another couple of amps for those chips then you might want a 15amp 5vdc power supply for all that. The good news is that doesn't have to be very expensive, as between older PC power supplies, E-bay, and 'surplus dealers' finding a supply should not be all that difficult. I would look into converting an older PC power supply as those things can be found for almost nothing.

Lefty

you might also want to brush up on multiplexing

That's an ambitious project for a self-reported newbie at electronics! Are you sure you don't want to start with something like 32 LED's? 64 LED's?

retrolefty is right, you will need a power supply in the >10A range which begins to raise questions about how you're going to efficiently wire things. If you try to pass 10A through regular 24AWG hookup wire you're going to lose a lot of power.