Is the Arduino Starter Kit feasible for my project idea?

Hello and thanks in advance!

I am new to Arduino and to forum posting (this is my first!). I would like to buy the Starter Kit from Arduino to acquaint myself with programming etc. and to use the kit for a project idea, but I need to know if the Uno board can perform switching control for a 12VDC Peltier cooling element. I understand old-fashioned relay control better than electronics, but I assume there is a way to do this with electronics. Can the Starter Kit with the Uno board perform this task?

Thanks for your help!

I don't know. Does it include a decent Logic Level, Low Rds N-channel MOSFET? If not, you can pick one up from Digikey http://www.digikey.com/product-search/en?keywords=AOI514

Hi, The YourDuino Makerspace kit includes a logic-level NFET and may other sensors and actuators. See details HERE:

DISCLAIMER: Mentioned stuff from my own shop...!

Thanks for the help! I can see I need to learn the lingo here, since I do not yet know what a “logic-level, low Rds N-channel MOSFET” is. Perhaps the Starter Kit would be a good place for me, especially if it comes with crayons!

Assuming you're looking at this ArduinoStarterKit, it includes the aforementioned N-channel MOSFET (IRF520) and presumably guidance on how to use it. We'd need to know the current (or equivalently wattage) rating of your intended Peltier device to determine if that particular MOSFET is appropriate for the application.

MrMark: Assuming you're looking at this ArduinoStarterKit, it includes the aforementioned N-channel MOSFET (IRF520) and presumably guidance on how to use it. We'd need to know the current (or equivalently wattage) rating of your intended Peltier device to determine if that particular MOSFET is appropriate for the application.

alas, the IRF520 is not a low lever MOSFET and requires a second device, another FET or a transistor.

the IRL530 is a low level . the ' L ' is the difference.