Is there a better way to capture vehicle speed sensor data?

I’m new to physical computing and am working my way up a very steep learning curve making lots of mistakes as I go. I’m hoping you can help me with a specific problem I’m struggling with…

I’ve fitted a digital vehicle speed sensor in-line with the original speedo cable on my 1967 Triumph Herald. The supplier of the sensor is unable to give me any information on the manufacturer or model number of the sensor so I have no datasheet to refer to but experimentation confirms that it returns 8 pulses per rotation of the speedo cable.

Using an Arduino Uno, I’ve created a sketch that increments a counter each time interrupt 0 (pin 2) triggers. The sketch reports the number of pulses each second to the serial line where they’re picked up by a Raspberry Pi for further processing.

To give myself something to calibrate against, I’ve also connected a blox NEO-6M-0-001 GPS unit to report speed in KMpH alongside pulses per second.

When I graph the pulses and the GPS speed detail on the same graph I’m seeing a lot of variance in the pulse figures so figure making it impossible to directly correlate pulses per second against speed (image attached).

I figure that there’s I’m collecting the pulses incorrectly and am struggling to understand where I’ve gone wrong. I’m hoping you might be able to help me understand where I’ve gone wrong.

// Global Setup

// Load libraries

#include <TinyGPS++.h>  // GPS Library
    #include <SoftwareSerial.h> // Allows connection to GPS hardware

// Declare variables

// Variables related to GPS Speed Checking
      static const int GPSRXPin = 4, GPSTXPin = 3;  // GPS Receive and Transmit Pins
      static const uint32_t GPSBaud = 9600; // Set baud for connection to GPS hardware

// Variables related to digital sender speed checking
      const int hallSensorPin = 2; // Speedo check pin