Is there a cheaper alternative to xbee? (need packet mode)

Hi,

Im just about to start playing with talking between multiple arduinos over a wireless link. I think, from the things I have read that the xbee units in API/packet mode will do everything I want but they're a little on the expensive side for a newbie and certainly for a proof of concept project.

In short I need something that is:

a) cheap :) b) simple to use c) provides a good reliable connection d) allows mutliple arduinos to talk to each other e) supports ACK for data recieved

Point B is critical as I am very new to this :)

Point C is not so important right now but would be for a finished product.

For point D, the arduinos dont really have to all be able to communicate with each other as long as multiple slaves can communicate with a master and the slaves can recieve an ack from the master but it would be nice to have two way comms across all of the connected arduinos.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Why not the SeeedStudio XBee footprint compatible radios?

Or the XRF modules from ciseco.co.uk that use the same XBee footprint.

Mind you, I haven't used any of them, but the price on the XRF modules is quite appealing. They sell them through eBay too. :)

bubulindo: Why not the SeeedStudio XBee footprint compatible radios?

These look like they are dedicated TX/RX units which I will try to avoid if possible but...

bubulindo: Or the XRF modules from ciseco.co.uk that use the same XBee footprint.

Mind you, I haven't used any of them, but the price on the XRF modules is quite appealing. They sell them through eBay too. :)

I do like the look (read price) of these and are available with SMA connectors too which is appealing to me. I've used ciseco before for some 328s for a couple of standalone arduinos, they seem like good guys so I might just give these a try. At that price I don't think there is much to lose.

Thanks for the input :)