Is there a decent N00B guide to fuses, boot loaders / low level stuff somewhere?

I've been working with Arduinos for at least 5 years now, and I started working with an attiny85 for a new project a couple of weeks ago and as I was reading the release notes for the core on Github just now, I realized that I still really don't understand a lot of what goes on under the hood in these chips.

Fuses - what are they? How do you manipulate them and why would you?

Bootloaders - I just know that they run first before anything else when power is first applied to a MC

... that's literally all I know about them ...

What kind of code comprises a bootloader, how large they are, what is the extent of their capabilities, how they get put on the chip ... when to use them, when not to use them, would there ever be an advantage to modifying one ... the questions are endless and I can't seem to find answers that are written in simple enough terms that someone like me can comprehend. The various sources of info on these topics also seem to assume that their reader has a certain knowledge level that apparently I don't have.

It's like reading datasheets sometimes ... Sure I can read English .... doesn't mean I get it ... like I should be able to go to a datasheet say if I want to learn how to put a particular MC into sleep mode ... then after reviewing the datasheet, I should know EXACTLY what to do in my code to use that feature.... but sadly, that's not the case.