Is there a sensor ON the board or what???

I am new to Arduino, but not electronics. I have a very strange thing happening though that I can not explain. I have a sketch that should just toggle an LED on/off when I press a momentary button. If I wire it through a breadboard, it works as expected. However, if I connect the LED directly from any pin that I set the output to to ground, if I move my hand near the board at any angle close to the ICSP headers, within like 4 inches, the LED will light up (and pulsing, not just a solid signal). Why is this happening?

I also have a servo that will not work with any sketch, and only slightly jerks when I first apply power. I was thinking it was just my servo but is there any way that these two things could be related?

Sorry if this is something noobish.

Post your code, using code tags.

Any Arduino input that is left “floating” (not connected to ground or Vcc through a wire or a resistor) can pick up stray electrostatic fields. If you happen to be reading such an input while waving your hand nearby, you will probably see changes in the readings.

jremington:
Post your code, using code tags.

Any Arduino input that is left "floating" (not connected to ground or Vcc through a wire or a resistor) can pick up stray electrostatic fields. If you happen to be reading such an input while waving your hand nearby, you will probably see changes in the readings.

Ah, that has to be it. I had the input wire not connected and was near where I was waving my hand. Good to know though, that thing really is sensitive! Seems like one could almost use an exposed open wire as a short range proximity sensor! :astonished:

Well, there is a capacitive sensor library. That makes use of the fact that an Arduino input is very high impedance.
http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/CapacitiveSensor

The servo motor could require 500mA when it starts rotating. Use a seperate power supply for that.