Is there a way to make a Yard Stick One with arduino?

Hello,

How would someone go about creating a Yard Stick One with arduino components?

here is a great description of the yard stick one: YARD Stick One - Sub-1 GHz Wireless Test Tool : ID 3586 : $99.95 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits

I am not sure what you meant by "arduino components".

You will certainly need RF components, either on a shield or somehow connected to the arduino components.

akc4:
How would someone go about creating a Yard Stick One with arduino components?

Unless you are already an expert in radio frequency circuit design don't waste your time - just buy one.

...R

Is there an Arduino core for the CC1111 radio used on the YardStickOne?

johnwasser:
Is there an Arduino core for the CC1111 radio used on the YardStickOne?

I honestly have no idea and I am quite new to arduino.

Robin2:
Unless you are already an expert in radio frequency circuit design don't waste your time - just buy one.

...R

not an expert and I am quite new to arduino.
However, I think this project would be a good project for an expert if it's possible.

akc4:
However, I think this project would be a good project for an expert if it's possible.

But it looks like an 'expert' has already done one, you gave us the link.

Devices such as this need quite a lot of support components for the neccessary RF antenna matching and filtering to reduce spurious emissions. Take a look at the typical components on a simple one band RF module and then multiply that up by the several bands the Yard Stick One supports.

An 'expert' would end up with a device that probably requires a lot of very small surface mount assembly and this implies it needs automated assembly. The device would also need a fair bit of (expensive) compliance testing so that it does not wipe out other vital communications.

So its a project that is quite a long way from a DIY Arduino approach.

akc4: