Is there any way to use webpages for display?

So I'm new to arduino, and while I know the basics of it I'm not terribly advanced as yet, so this may be a little out of my depth to ask...

I see a lot of info about putting data from an arduino onto the internet, but I am struggling to find a way to take internet data and display it on an LCD. Maybe I'm not looking in the right places, but if anyone could point me in the correct direction I would appreciate it!

The reason I ask and why I'm jumping ahead of my learning curve a bit, is because I'm doing a project on identity in our current culture, and I wanted to display someone's friend or follower count in real time on a brooch. The project is coming to a particular so my time is limited, hence my rush ahead of my learning curve!

The theory is the same for any language like using php to get friend & follow count. You can google that.

When you wear a personal ego trinket to tell yourself and others how popular you are, that itself is a statement about identity in our current sick, sad culture.

There are two parts to your problem. Well, there may be more than 2, but the two big ones are getting the data to display and displaying the data.

The first one requires that you make a GET request. Specifically how to do that depends on whether you are using an Ethernet shield, a WiFi shield, or a GSM shield.

The GET request is made to a server, so you have to know where the data of interest is. The GET request also defines the name of the script to run, on the server, to get the data of interest.

That you have to ask this question suggests to me that you have no clue what hardware to use, what server has the data of interest, or what script to execute to get the data. Am I wrong?

PaulS:
There are two parts to your problem. Well, there may be more than 2, but the two big ones are getting the data to display and displaying the data.