Is this going to explode?

I'm trying to do a project where I use a servo motor to flick up and down (maybe 30 degree each way) very rapidly. When I got the servo motor from the genuino set, it looks like this

I'm trying to follow this youtube video and it mentioned also not to use the computer as your power source, is it really a big deal? As I don't have an external battery holder.

cheeteck15:
is it really a big deal?

Why do you think you were being warned if it wasn't? Or you just need one more person on an internet forum to tell you in order to convince you?

Yes, it will destroy your Arduino. Only the control signal should come from Arduino. The servo needs it's own power not coming through Arduino and definitely not coming from your computer.

Sorry I have no background in this, Im just learning. Usually for the previous projects I have been using the genuino as the power source, so why is this so different?

cheeteck15:
Usually for the previous projects I have been using the genuino as the power source, so why is this so different?

What were you powering? How much current did it draw? Motors need a lot of current. Try to pull too much through poor little Arduino and he'll start smoking.

So in genuino there are like 15 projects, the first one is simply turning on an led bulb with a switch, third one is a temperature sensor that changes the led bulb when the temperature changes etc.

also, is there something wrong with the wiring as shown in the picture?

cheeteck15:
So in genuino there are like 15 projects, the first one is simply turning on an led bulb with a switch, third one is a temperature sensor that changes the led bulb when the temperature changes etc.

LEDs take a LOT less current than a motor.

cheeteck15:
also, is there something wrong with the wiring as shown in the picture?