Is this Possible - Encoder Matrix

OK I just have a question as to if something is possible and what I need to look at doing to make it happen.. My current sketch is working perfectly with a Matrixed Button Inputs and Encoder support using the Standard Digital inputs via the Buxtronics Encoder decoding programming.

The Question I have is if there is any way to move the Encoders into the (or a second) Matrix and then be able to feed a button state ( 1 or 0 ) for two specific positions in the matrix to the Buxtronics Encoder instead of checking the Encoder Pin1 and Encoder Pin 2 via digitalRead (as it is currently done).

What I am hoping to do is be able to have a Matrix of encoders that are monitored and decoded for CW and CCW Gamepad button Presses to reduce wiring to the controller board.

Right now this works but the encoders eat up the use of quite a few pins on the Microprocessor.

I have been trying out some different codes but I am very new to this and I haven't got anything with the encoder Matrixing that has even come CLOSE to working.

I figure it should be able to be done I just can't seem to figure it out as the keypad buttons issue the Keystates which should be able to somehow be converted to 1 and 0 states which should be able to be substituted for the DigitalRead state 1 and 0.

Problems I have found though is how to possibly group the 2 numbers of each encoder so that Pin 1 and Pin 2 can be together and read concurrently so the grey code of the encoder flows to the Decoder properly and doesn't get mixed up with other encoder signals in the matrix.

Anyway Sorry I don't have code as such for this but because it is currently working without the Encoder Matrix it seems to me it is more of a theoretical question where I just need a little guidance for where to research.

Thank you