Is this possible? Using Altimeter to deploy a drone parachute

I'm very new to the Arduino and am looking to use an Arduino with an altimeter to deploy a parachute on a drone. I've done a bit of reading on altimeters in use with Arduino boards and am feeling a little overwhelmed. I was looking at using the Adafruit BMP180 altimeter - http://www.adafruit.com/products/1603

I would like to be able to define a preset maximum decent speed (say 6ft per sec) and if the decent is exceeded I want the arduino to then trigger a servo to deploy the parachute.

Is it possibly to this with the arduino boards and which board would you recommend me buying?

Any advice and or direction is greatly appreciated. I'm currently thinking that it may best to outsource this job to a more experienced coder but if I can tackle it myself I will :slight_smile:

It should be fairly easy. Even the smallest Arduino has enough pins to support a single I2C device and a servo. The program would work something like this:

Every second:
Read the pressure altitude.
If the new reading is more then 6' (2 m? 1.75 m?) below the previous altitude:
Deploy the parachute.
Record the altitude as the previous altitude.

You may want to kill the motors when you deploy the parachute so the quadcopter can't recover control and head upward into its parachute.

Instead of using rate of fall you could use an accelerometer and detect a free-fall condition (all three axes reading near zero acceleration).

Thank you very much for the reply :slight_smile:

I've thought about using an accelerometer but wasn't sure how to make it work to detect a free fall also I've ran into instances with drones where they catch their own prop wash and enter a rapid decent while not a free fall still a decent rate that is fast enough to cause damage that's why I was looking into the altimeter.

I was going to add an output to kill the motors as well.