Is this possible with an ATTINY85/Shift Register? RGB LED MoodLamp Project

So I’m relatively new to Arduino, etc., so I’m learning as I go. The best way for me to learn is by the hands-on approach while building a project that interests me.

With that in mind, I’m wanting to build an RGB LED MoodLamp, which I’ve got working by hooking it up to my Uno, but want to downsize it/build it for cheaper as I will eventually make a few of these for gifts.

My plan was to use some ATTINY85’s that I have laying around, but with the amount of I/O’s that I need, it won’t have enough pins. To get around that, I plan on using a Shift Register (SN74HC595N).

My question is, with the approach and details below, is it possible with the ATTINY85/Shift Register? If it’s not, I’ll probably buy some ATMEGA328’s that are used in the Uno, but would prefer to use the ATTINY85’s up.

Parts I’ll be using

ATTINY85
SN74HC595N Shift Register
RGB LED
Push Button
Photocell
Potentiometer
Other Misc. Parts

Basically, the lamp will automatically turn on when the room is dark enough via the Photocell and the lamp will have 3 modes, which can be cycled through by pressing the button.

Full Spectrum Range

This mode ranges through the spectrum of colors.
The potentiometer will be used to change the speed in which it cycles through the spectrum

Solid Color

The potentiometer will be used to change the color

Candle Flicker

No other parts needed to run this mode

Here are the calls that I’m using for the I/O’s

Turn LED On/Off with Photocell - digitalWrite(PIN, LOW/HIGH)
Read Potentiometer Value - analogRead()
Read Photocell Value - analogRead();
Read Button State - digitalRead()
Spectrum Color Mode - analogWrite(PIN, brightness[0-255])
Solid Color Potentiometer Change - analogWrite(PIN, brightness[0-255])
Candle Flicker Mode - analogWrite(PIN, brightness[0-255])