Is this project possible?

Hi,

Newbie here. I have not done any arduino projects before. But if my inquiries below are possible, then I might as well dive into arduino.

Problem:
Air conditioner problematic at times.

Project in mind:
Build a temperature detector.

Questions:

1. Is this possible?
  2. If the answer to #2 is yes, then is it possible to send an e-mail/SMS if the temperature reaches a certain heat level? (Heat level here should be defined)

As I said, I'm a newbie and have no broad ideas about doing projects in arduino. Any helpful input is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Yes this is possible.
However it is not a beginners project get some experience first.

Hi, Get some experience, do some reading at http://ArduinoInfo.Info

Quite possible and not one of the hardest do to.
IMHO, difficulty level is about 4 (on a scale 1 [very easy] -10 [extremely hard]).

You'll have to make a few choices:

a) How will the temperature be measured?

• Thermistor (analog)
    Very cheap, easy to program (if you have the formulae), very easy to build a circuit for, but it is also less precise than the digital methods

• LM335 or similar (analog)
    precise, easy to circuit

• LM35 (digital)
    very precise, but a bit harder to program, easy to circuit, more expensive

• specialized IC, like DS1624 (digital)
    most precise, slow temp change, most expensive of these methods, a bit harder to circuit, but easier to program, since there are readily available libraries for it (I've published one here on the forums... check my sig)

• there are certainly other methods, but these are the more common ones

b) How will you connect to the internet?

Your options are, basically, through ethernet ( $ ), wi-fi ($$) and 3G ($$$).

For everything you need to do (read temp, send e-mail, etc), there are probably code samples on the internet and possibly here are the forums. So your task might be resumed to build the circuit, put all the sample code together and test.