Is this the correct way to power a servo & board using external power source?

Hi all,

I was wondering if my schematic below is correct when it comes to using a single external power source to power both an Arduino board and servo. If so, can I just continue to add more servos in parallel with no problem?

This is my very first project with Arduino. I'm was hoping someone could confirm that I have applied my research correctly when designing this circuit, before I hook it up and blow everything! :wink:

I've left off the a bunch of LED's and buttons from the breadboard as I figure they are probably irrelevant to my question.

EDIT: I've updated my schematic to the second image.

Original

Revised

Thanks in advance for your help!

If you connect your circuit like that you will fry your servo in 50mS !
Servos cannot be powered by a voltage greater than 6V. Just plug the servo red wire into the arduino +5V.
The arduino can handle one servo no problem.

Thanks Raschmmel. How would I work out how many servo's I can add straight to the board before needing to operate them from a separate power supply?

The servo I am getting delivered has the following specs:

• Power Supply: 3 to 7.2 V
  • Current: 8mA (rest) - 350mA (empty)
  • Amplitude: rotation continue
  • Torque @ 4.8 V: 11kg/cm
  • Torque @ 6,0V: 13kg/cm

Thanks for your help!

When I said you could power a servo from the arduino +5V I SHOULD have qualified that by saying you can power an UNLOADED
servo (WITH NOTHING CONNECTED TO THE SERVO ARM), for testing code. When powering LOADED servos that are actually driving a load, you need to use an external 6V battery pack consisting of 4 AA batteries.

Ah okay. Well this servo will be pulling a load of about 3kgs. As you mentioned, I need to hook up to an external power source. Is the wiring in my diagram suitable (provided I change from a 9V battery to a 6V setup)?