Is this topping maximum Arduino ADC sample/serial send to windows speed?

Hello, I've been researching ADC sampling on the Arduino, and after reading a lot I came with the following codes for the Arduino (in my case, a Nano clone with a CH340 serial-USB converter) and for a VERY SIMPLE 'scope' app on Processing (don't hit me too hard, I'm not a professional programmer in any way lol).

I'm using a sine wave ( 0.5 - 4.5Vpp) with variable frequency as input. After doing a lot of optimizations, I've been able to reach a reasonably good sampling of around 16 data points for each cycle of a 4kHz sine wave, which I think it's ok from what I've been reading. After that, there's too few data points and the sampling starts to distort and become unusable.

I'll state what I think it's happening on both sides based on the codes.

A) Arduino side: I disabled interrupts, programmed the USART to send 8N1 data, programmed the UART to send at 2Mbps, programmed the ADC prescaler to 16 (which I read it's the minimum speed without distorting conversion), and just 'spit' bits at the USART as soon as 1) the AD finishes converting, 2) The USART buffer is available:

#define BAUD    1000000
#define FCPU 16000000UL
#define BRC     ((FCPU/16/BAUD) - 1)
void UART_Init(){
    UBRR0H = (unsigned char)(BRC >> 8);
    UBRR0L = (unsigned char) BRC;
    bitSet(UCSR0A, U2X0);
    UCSR0B = (0<<RXEN0) |(1<<TXEN0) | (0 << RXCIE0);
    UCSR0C = (1 << UCSZ01) | (3<<UCSZ00);
}

int main() {  
  uint32_t ct;
  cli();//interrupts disable
  UART_Init(); // initialize the UART 
  // prescaler AD=16
  ADCSRA = 0b10000100;
  // Channel
  ADMUX  = 0b01000001;
  //while(ct<=4096) {
  while(1) {
    ADCSRA |= 0b00010000;    
    ADCSRA |= bit(ADSC);
    while( !( ADCSRA & 0b00010000));
    while( !( UCSR0A & (1<<UDRE0)) );
    UDR0 = (ADC >> 8) & 0x03;
    while( !( UCSR0A & (1<<UDRE0)) );
    UDR0 = (ADC & 0x00FF)+4;
    //ct++;
  } 
}