ISR Questions

Hi, I’m relatively new to programming and have decided to take on a project where I’d have my Arduino Duemilanova output the Rate of Fire of a paintball marker using two optical sensors. I have the sensors working properly and I am able to check when they are triggered however I am having trouble figuring out how to have the program check the shotcount every second. Right now, I have my program increment the shotcount(“ShotCount++;”) every time a ball triggers both sensors. I simply need to check the value of ShotCount every second. Ive read some tutorials on Timer Interrupts but am not 100% sure how to go about coding one.

I need to be able to determine(With an accuracy of 1 decimal place) the ROF in Balls/Second. Could anyone with knowledge on interrupts show me how to program one to check my shotcount every second without disrupting the time sensitive code that’s already within my loop()? Thanks

Right now my code looks something like this:

#include <LiquidCrystal.h> 
#define pin6 (1 << PORTD6)
#define pin7 (1 << PORTD7)        

int BPS;                 
        int FPS;                 
        int Flag;
        long Inches;             
        unsigned long StartTime; 
        unsigned long StopTime;  
        unsigned long Duration; 
        volatile unsigned long ShotCount;

LiquidCrystal lcd(8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13);

void setup() 
        {
         DDRD &= ~ ((1 << PORTD6) | (1 << PORTD7));  //Sets Pins 6 and 7 as INPUTS
         lcd.begin(16, 2);              
         Duration=0;                    
         FPS=0;                         
         BPS=0;                      
         Flag=0;                     
        }

void loop() 
        {

if (PIND & (1 <<PORTD6) && Flag==0)     //Checks if Sensor 1 has been triggered(HIGH) 
            {
              StartTime=micros();                   
              Flag=1;                        
            }  

if (PIND & (1 <<PORTD7) && Flag==1)     
            {