Issue compiling library without constructor argument .. Confused

I am just learning and have started with simple examples, well mostly. The problem had me hunting in my first attempt at a library for literally hours without any progress.
I had taken a working sketch and transplanted it into a library using the Morse example as a template and it just wouldn’t compile …
I eventually replicated the error in the simple Morse class :-

test1:7: error: request for member ‘dot’ in ‘morse’, which is of non-class type ‘Morse ()()’ <<
This is repeated for all functions when they are referenced even though the compiler is happy with the include and init.

This is a snipet of my sketch followed by the top of the .h and .cpp files.
With the commented ‘A’ lines are in play all is well, while ‘B’'s give me the error :-

#include <Morse.h>
//Morse morse(13);         //A
//Morse morse();           //B
void setup(){}
void loop(){
   morse.dot(); morse.dot(); ......

The slightly modified Morse.h :-

class Morse
{
   public:
     // Morse(int pin);  // A
     //Morse();          // B

And the Morse.cpp

// Morse::Morse(int pin)        // A
// Morse::Morse()               // B
{
  // _pin = pin;                // A
  // _pin = 13;                 // B 
  pinMode(pin, OUTPUT);
}

I have played around with all sorts of configurations and even naming conventions, in the process generating all sorts of errors due to omission, mismatch and even poor construct. All could be traced to mistakes and generally were identified within verbose compilation comments.

However no matter what I do I cant get a library, any library, to work if the construct is devoid of arguments and I cant find a reason.
The error is always the same … request for member X in Y, which is of non-class type Y ()().
I assume this means that Y is not being recognised as a class when its constructor is Y() as opposed to Y(a)