Issue with Atmega16U2 chip

I am quite new to this world of Arduinos. The board I have is a UNO R3 and has been working fine as expected. But one fine day it failed an upload of a sketch or should I say it was hung during an upload and I yanked the USB cable. Ever since then I have not been able to upload any new sketches and the one that was already there is also not working since it failed in the middle of an upload. Below are the steps I have done for troubleshooting and now have hit a dead end.

Now before anything, as I explain the steps, please keep in mind that the UNO shows up perfectly fine in Device Manager on COM5 and also I am able to fetch the Board Info using the Arduino IDE.

1. First I enabled verbose logging for uploads and got the below error message consistently.
avrdude: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude: stk500_getsync() attempt 2 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x27
  1. I tried different USB cables, different PCs, all the same.

2. Tried re-installing the device drivers via Device Manager. No go, same error during upload. Even tried Arduino Create plugin via browser.

Point to note: During upload, there is absolutely no activity on the TX or RX lights. The L light just stays on solid along with the power ON light.

1. Tried doing Loopback test. Failed! No activity on TX/RX light when sending commands using serial monitor.

2. At this point, I went ahead and got myself a new UNO R3 board. It works perfectly as expected, so 100% ruled out any issues with PC or drivers.

3. I used the new board to find out more about the issue on the broken board. I used the following resource: GitHub - nickgammon/arduino_sketches: Publicly-released sketches for the Arduino microprocessor

When running the Atmega_Board_Detector sketch, the check for the Atmega16U2 chip via ICSP pins comes back with error:

Attempting to enter programming mode ......................................................
Failed to enter programming mode. Double-check wiring!