Issues connecting MKR1000 and MKR1010 via I2C

I have a very simple Master-Slave example using the Wire.h library over I2C. I have tested this example with a UNO and a Nano and it works perfectly. I have tried the exact same example with a MKR1000 as a Master and the Nano / Uno as slave and it does not work. I made sure to use the proper pull up resistors and even tried to rule out a voltage difference issue (3v vs 5v) by using a Logic Level Converter for this purpose and it still does not work.

As an apples to apples test, I connected the MRK1000 (master) to a MKR1010 (slave) and it still does not work.

I would really appreciate some help as my research has not been successful in finding a fix. I am wondering if there is some incompatibility issue with these devices and the Wire library.

Thanks in advance.

Ignacio

Post a wiring diagram of your setup. Post the code you're using (the SAMD platform is a bit less tolerant for programming errors in the Wire library than the AVR platform)!

I am posting the diagram (note: I tried it with and without the pull up resistors and I get the same result)

The code to the simple master and slave programs can be found on:

This library facilities transition of more complex structures.

I'm missing the pull-ups you mentioned in your diagram. Without them it won't work on the SAMD platform.

I didn’t draw them in but they are in the circuit per this diagram (see attachment). Although most documentation states they are not really necessary. The resistors are 4k7.

i2c-3v3-sensor-connect.png

That diagram doesn't show an Arduino->Arduino connection.

Although most documentation states they are not really necessary.

Most documentation is not for the SAMD platform but for the AVR (UNO). There internal pull-ups are activated on the master but they are weak and with a bit longer wires you need them even there.

I didn't draw them in but they are in the circuit per this diagram (see attachment).