Issues following the AdaFruit atwinc 1500 wifi breakout guide

Hello everyone

Before I start: I’ve posted this on the Adafruit Forum but sadly didn’t get any answer.

I’m new to the Arduino/adafruit community and would like you to help me on the following issue:

I’ve bought an Adafruit atwinc 1500 WiFi break + Arduino Uno in order to use it for my project. Since I’m not familiar with the Adafruit, I’ve downloaded the guide (See Link here) and followed the well explained steps one by one.

Arriving to the programming section and more specifically at the Firmware check, I’m now stuck because of an error I cannot figure out. The code that I’m using is literally a copy-past ( + adding the setPins required) of the code in the library.

The Code is:

#include <SPI.h>
#include <WiFi101.h>

void setup() {
  WiFi.setPins(8,7,4);
  Serial.begin(9600);
  while (!Serial) {
    ; 
  }

Serial.println("WiFi101 firmware check.");
  Serial.println();

Serial.print("WiFi101 shield: ");

if (WiFi.status() == WL_NO_SHIELD) {
    Serial.println("NOT PRESENT");
    return;
  }
  Serial.println("DETECTED");

String fv = WiFi.firmwareVersion();
  String latestFv;
  Serial.print("Firmware version installed: ");
  Serial.println(fv);

if (REV(GET_CHIPID()) >= REV_3A0) {

latestFv = WIFI_FIRMWARE_LATEST_MODEL_B;
  } else {

latestFv = WIFI_FIRMWARE_LATEST_MODEL_A;
  }

Serial.print("Latest firmware version available : ");
  Serial.println(latestFv);

Serial.println();
  if (fv >= latestFv) {
    Serial.println("Check result: PASSED");
  } else {
    Serial.println("Check result: NOT PASSED");
    Serial.println(" - The firmware version on the shield do not match the");
    Serial.println("   version required by the library, you may experience");
    Serial.println("   issues or failures.");
  }
}

void loop() {
  // do nothing
}

Error Code with verbose during compile:

Arduino: 1.8.9 (Windows Store 1.8.21.0) (Windows 10), Board: "Arduino/Genuino Uno"

[...]

Compiling sketch...