Issues reading Gyro Data, and issues with my own PID Controller

Hello, I am a MET student who is trying to implement some control theory with an Arduino micro. I am using an LSM9DS1 sensor with the SparkFun i2c library as a basis for my code. The complimentary and moving average filter that I used on the MPU6050 is having trouble giving me accurate gyro values once I have added in my own PID code for some reason. I attempted to isolate the gyro values to diagnose by integrating them with a small delay dt, but the gyro values seem to be giving nonsense and floating around 0. My D term for my PID controller also does not really work, which leads me to believe that something with dt value is very wrong. Does anyone have any advice?

This is my second Arduino project, and im trying to avoid using libraries that make the control theory easier so that I can learn as much as possible.

#include <Wire.h>
#include <SPI.h>
#include <SparkFunLSM9DS1.h>
#include <Servo.h>
LSM9DS1 imu;
Servo R;
Servo L;

void print_values();

float timer,timer2;
int i=0;
int ip=0;
float Az,Ay,Ax,Gz,Gx,Gy,Gangle,Aroll,Apitch,ApitchAvg,pitch_store,pitch,pitchp;
float error,Perror,PID_p,PID_i,PID_ip,PID_d,Output;
float Rout,Lout;
float CF = .96;
float SetPoint=0;
float kp =.3;
float kd =25;
float ki = 0.0;

float Min = 35;

void setup() {
   Serial.begin(115200);
   Wire.begin();

//initializes imu (not sure how but without it no values can be grabbed)
    if (imu.begin() == false) // with no arguments, this uses default addresses (AG:0x6B, M:0x1E) and i2c port (Wire).
  {
    Serial.println("Somthing is very wrong, I am a computer, so you will have to figure out what it is");

}

R.attach(9,1000,2000);
  L.attach(8,1000,2000);
  R.write(0);
  delay(3000);
  L.write(0);
  delay(3000);
}
float dt = .009;

void loop() {

Serial.print(" ");
   timer=millis();
   if ( imu.accelAvailable() ){

//Grabs acceleration values 
    //I chose not to go with the given conversion to Gs 
    imu.readAccel();