Issues with random() and lighting LEDs

I’m pretty new to Arduino, and after some success with some example sketches and a few of my own, I decided to attempt a simple project.

The intent here is to create what is basically a light responsive “cricket” with a few LEDs.

In high light, it should emit a random sound and light sequence and then sleep for a short time.
In medium light, it should emit a random sound and light and then sleep for a medium time.
In low light, it only blinks the Red LED and then sleeps for a long time.

The code below runs without errors.
It successfully measures the light and makes a decision based on that.
It successfully fills the soundArray and plays the sounds.
It successfully sleeps for a period of time.

However:
The notes (frequency) never seems to vary very much, no matter how large or small I make FREQRANGE (# of possible values) and FREQMOD (separation between possible values). Only FREQMOD2 (starting point of range) seems to have any real effect. DURMOD works perfectly.

The LED’s never light up. Not when reading the light level or when playing the sound and light sequence.

Does anyone have any insight here?
Are there certain pins I should be using for the LEDs? I have tried a few different ones, but have not seen a change.

Thanks,

Quick

This code uses the RocketScream LowPower library.
You could replace the sleep function with a delay for the same effect if you do not have this library.

#include <LowPower.h>

// set output pins
const int RED = 13;                                             // Red LED
const int GRN = 7;                                              // Green LED
const int BZZ = 8;                                              // Buzzer
const int LDR = A0;                                             // Light Detecting Resistor

// set constants
const int MAXLIGHT = 300;                                       // awakeness
const int MINLIGHT = 40;
const int MEDMIN = 2;// medium sleep