Issues with the sensor counter using PulseIn function.

Hey Guys,

I am a newbie to Arduino. I am currently doing a project that includes Arduino UNO controller hooked to a retroreflective sensor (transmitter & receiver on the same side of the sensor). It is a simple application that involves interrupting the sensor. The sensor generates an active LOW pulse upon interruption and based on that a counter increments by 1. My issue is with the counter itself. So here it goes: I used the PulseIn function and it did work well. I used the LOW mode(the sensor goes active LOW upon interruption) and it did the trick. Now I want the controller to increment by 1 only when the duration of the interruption is above a certain number of milliseconds. So that it filters out the fast instantaneous interruption's. I started with figuring out the average timing of each interruption. This is where the problem starts, I am aware that the readings of the pulseIn fn. is in (usec). The controller only outputs the duration of fast interrupts, so when the interrupt is long (i.e. you interrupt and the pulse goes LOW and is kept at that state for a second or 2) the controller doesn't give any output. This was quite confusing since the pulseIn fn. could return length of the pulse for upto 3 min. in length. I did assign the longest datatype (Double). I guess it has to do something with the watchdog timer itself. It is resetting the internal clock when it sees that the pulse is taking too long to go to HIGH from LOW. Could this be a possible reason, I want to know as to how can you alter the default settings of the watchdog timer (Interrupt timer).

So guys, I would really appreciate your help in this regard.

Desperate Programmer! :(

This is the code that I've composed:

/Counter using PulseIN/

double duration; int counter = 0; void setup() { pinMode (5, INPUT); Serial.begin(9600); } void loop() { duration = pulseIn(5, LOW); if (duration >100000) {