Jack Edwards Boat Autopilot Based on Mega 2560- Heading, GPS and Knob Steering.

I have built an Autopilot for my boat using the instructions by a man named Jack Edwards. He has a short youtube video showing how it works on his 40 foot sailboat wilecoyote..

Unfortunately, I cannot get the software and libraries he put on his dropbox to work on my computer.

I contacted him, and he said his last version had a typo, and he fixed it, but I tried that one again, and had the same problems. I even used an earlier version of both his software, and arduino IDE, and still no joy.

I am new to this, not computer savvy. SO maybe I am dong something wrong.Or maybe my computer got a glitch because I don't know what I am doing.

Here are the problems:

1. His zip file will not load using the add zip function of Arduino. So, I unzip them and put them into a folder I create (named autopilot) in the documents-Arduino Folder on my Computer. I even tried to put it in the Arduino folder in the x86 program folder, but that didn't work either.

2. I unzip his library folder and I put them inside the Library folder in documents-Arduiono- Library

3. When I finally get the file into IDE, and I click verify, I usually get a message- "exit status 1. error compiling for board arduino/genuino mega and mega 2560".

4. Other files (sketches?) give the message: "timer" (or whatever) was not declared in this scope". It will highlight the portion of the code it is referring to.

5. I also get "invalid library found in C:\users\garry\documents\arduino\libraries

6. I also often get the message "the sketchbook folder no longer exists. Arduino will switch to the default sketchbook location, and create a new sketchbook folder if necessary".

7. When it creates the sketchbook folder at this new location, it is in a temporary location, which does not seem correct to me.

8. When I click show sketchbook folder, it shows me a temporary location, not the arduino folder in documents.