Juggling Ball Arduino

I started another topic on 1 aspect of this and people seemed interested so I thought I would make myself a master thread to discuss my project in.

I want to build juggling balls that can change color when (or a number of MS after) they are thrown, caught, and reach the top of their toss. I am still a novice juggler so I am starting this project now so that it is finished when I have the skills to use them.

Here are the issues I am going to need tackle:

1. Sensing the toss, catch, and peak.

I think this can all be done with a 3 axis accelerometer.

1. Making sure the ball will hold up to 1000s of throws, catches, and drops.

2. Power and recharging the ball. I would love to power it via the kinetic energy I am giving it somehow, but I don't think this will be feasible.

3. Keeping the ball well balanced.

4. Making a good light diffuser so the ball's color looks uniform.

If anyone else can think of any other issues that might come up feel free to chime in.

Also mods, if this topic is in the wrong place please move it. I didn't see any forum for projects in the planning phase.

i would use a piezo speaker thing to sense the throws and catches

much cheaper and easy work with

as for making it durable i guess that comes down to how you plan on protecting them

awesome idea though - i like it :slight_smile:

i would use a piezo speaker thing to sense the throws and catches

I have a big piezo speaker I can play with. Do I just wire it up backwards to make a simple sensor out of it?

as for making it durable i guess that comes down to how you plan on protecting them

I was thinking of casting it in something that is non conductive. Like silicon or acrylic. Then it would be totally solid and should be a good diffuser naturally. The only thing exposed to the outside of the ball will be a mini usb connection. I think I will try to make it soderless. Then there would be less to break.