Jukebox volume control

Hi
Although I am a Electrical tradesman I am a Noob when it comes to Arduino products, I apologise in advance for any stupid questions.
I am restoring a 1958 record jukebox and would like to have a wireless remote volume control as the manual volume control is made deliberately hard to access.
I have been looking at the following site for ideas

My question is this the best option the jukebox was made to have a wired remote volume control so it won’t be difficult to wire in to the amplifier.
I have attached a diagram of the volume control showing the potentiometers used there are two pots as this was the very first stereo jukebox.
The two plugs j102 and p102 are where you can plug a remote volume control and disable the jukebox manual control.
Any help is most appreciated

image.jpg

image.jpg

There are 3 parts to the project. A transmitter, receiver, and digital volume control. That might be a lot for a "beginner project" and in general, I wouldn't recommend copying an existing project unless understand how each part works.... If you have a problem you'll have to understand it to troubleshoot it... So, build & program it one step at a time... I'd start with volume control (under software control) and add the remote after the basic function works.

You can get digital pots.

There are 3 types of digital interfaces for digital pots: Serial, Parallel, or Up-Down. To me, a simple up-pulse or down-pulse seems the easiest to program and appropriate for a volume control where you don't want jump suddenly to a new setting.

I don't understand the extra taps on the volume control. I could be for [u]loudness compensation[/u] which was common at one time, but is no longer "in style". I'm sure that could be implemented with digital pots I don't know how it would work in your existing circuit.

http://www.instructables.com/id/Jukebox-Wireless-Volume-Control/?ALLSTEPS