Just getting started with XBee

Hey everyone.

I'm a total XBee noob. I just have a few questions, hopefully they're easy enough :sweat_smile:

First, how far do regular XBees actually go? I need them to go 240, absolute max 250, feet. However, there are some obstructions, even though it's outside. Do I need the high-power (pro) ones?

Second, do I need an adapter board of any kind? Or can I just plug it straight into the Arduino 3.3v and tx/rx sockets?

Third, I take it the main limitation of series 1 XBees is that they can only communicate with one other radio at a time. Is that true? (Wild assumption based on everything I've seen so far.)

If that's true, to make this project of mine happen I need series 2, even though it's apparently a lot more complicated. If I need series 2, can anyone point me to a tutorial of some kind?

Thanks guys!

Look at the xbee datasheet=>page 5 for specifications on xbee and xbee pro,it will also tell you the range. If you are using arduino 3.3 v then you wont need a adapter board.You can directly connect tx-DIN and rx-DOUT of arduino and xbee. I would recommend you to get a xbee explorer USB.You need this to configure your xbee using XCTU or any other terminal program. If you use xbee series 1 ,they are simply out of the box radio which do not need any configurations.Xbee series 1 will start talking as soon as they are connected on a network. Limitations of xbee series 1 is that they are not fully zigbee complaint .They will not do mesh networking.Point to point and point to multipoint networking are supported by xbee series 1.Xbee series 1 is simply 802.15.4 protocol. Series 2 are fully zigbee complaint.

Please read Building Wireless Networks by Robert Faludi-Oreilly.I am also not an expert but have done some projects on xbee and some readings .If you are very beginner, then you need to do lot of reading,searching online information and get some xbees(atleast 2) and start playing with them.Good Luck