Keep an analogRead for further calculation

Hello,

I am new to this board and also new to the Arduino. I have programmed before but I am not a professional. Also excuses for my english, it is not my mother-language.

Right now I am testing some stuff with the Arduino and the contents of a Starter-Kit.

I am using an RGBB-LED and want to make something like a mood light. I have one Potentiometer and one Push-Button. I wired everything on my breadboard and it works so far.

What I want to accomplish is that I cycle with the push-button through the different colors of the LED and adjust them with the potentiometer. Like, I start the Sketch on the Arduino and with the potentiometer I adjust the first color with the potentiometer, then I push the button to adjust the second color and so on. What I just described is working so far. What I want to do now is that while cycling through the colors not the actual reading of the potentiometer is instantly altering the intensity of the color to the actual reading of the potentiometer.

For example the analog output to the LED color red is 130 and the reading from the potentiometer is 220. Now I dont want the analog output to change to 220, I´d more rather like it to stay at 130 until I turn the potentiometer to 130 and start altering the color from that point on. I hope that was understandable.

My problem is that I can not keep the reading from the potentiometer locked in a variable for checking it against it´s actual reading.

This is how far I got with my code until now. The comments are in german and part of my variables as well.

// Mit diesem Programm sollen die 4 LEDs in der RGB LED gesteuert werden. Wenn man den Button drückt wird auf die nächste LED geschaltet.
// Die jeweilige LED soll dann mit dem Potentiometer rauf bzw. runter geregelt werden. Dadurch können die Farben gemixt werden.

// Pinbelegungen
// Pins für die LEDs
#define blue1 10
#define green 9
#define blue2 6
#define red 5

//Pin für den Button