Keep running LEDs after PIR sensor goes back to low?

Hello. I am new to Arduino, and working on building a Star Wars-themed door panel for my kid's bedroom. The plan is to have the panel light up for a few minutes based on input from a PIR sensor (e.g. when he enters/exits the room). Right now I'm working with an Uno R3 board and an Adafruit PIR sensor. At this point, I'm just using the built-in LED for testing the sensor and timing.

I'm having trouble getting both the PIR and the time limiting factor to work together. I tried using an AND (&&) statement for if the PIR was HIGH and then the millis(), but that didn't work. Then I separated them into two IF statements, and that didn't work. Then I tried what's below, which is inverting the first IF to if the PIR is LOW, do nothing, else run the timed portion of the loop. However, this only seems to work while the input from the PIR is still HIGH. Watching the serial output, the loop only seems to work as long as there is motion at the sensor, and the input stays at HIGH. I have experimented with the two pots or dials (sensitivity and timing) on the sensor, but haven't gotten any kind of consistent result.

I've read through many posts today on the forum, but haven't been able to figure this out on my own. Appreciate any input or help.

int motionSensor = 3;
int pirState = LOW;
int val = 0;
unsigned long minutes = 60000;

void setup() {
  pinMode(LED_BUILTIN, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(motionSensor, INPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {

val = digitalRead(motionSensor);
    if (val == LOW) {}

else {

if (millis() < minutes * 1)

Serial.println("Motion detected!");
    digitalWrite(LED_BUILTIN, HIGH); 
    delay(1000);                      
    digitalWrite(LED_BUILTIN, LOW);  
    delay(1000);                      

}}

You need to detect when the input becomes HIGH rather than when it is HIGH
See the StateChangeDetection example in the IDE