Keeping accurate timing of steps?

I’m trying to write my own stepper library to better understand and customize my code. I’m pretty new to this kind of programming and have some questions. The code below is only test code.

I’m using a timer interrupt and have the steps counted and reported every second but the steps reported don’t always match the number of steps that should be called. I’d like to have some interfaces that utilize inputs of steps over real time and think the error is too large to be overlooked.

I’m aware of Bresenham, is this something that would fix what I’m seeing? There is a reference here: https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=351925.0 but they were not using an interrupt.

Please take a look and point out anything I should fix, add, or streamline. Thanks.

#include <TimerOne.h>

#define E1_STEP_PIN        36
#define E1_DIR_PIN         34
#define E1_ENABLE_PIN      30

#define E0_STEP_PIN        26
#define E0_DIR_PIN         28
#define E0_ENABLE_PIN      24

#define X_MIN_PIN           3
#define X_MAX_PIN           2

#define Y_MIN_PIN          14
#define Y_MAX_PIN          15

#define Z_MIN_PIN          18
#define Z_MAX_PIN          19

#define LCD_BEEP           37
#define LED                13

int stepsPerSecond = 1000;
unsigned long previousMillis_count = 0;

int count = 0;

void setup() {
  Timer1.initialize(100);                    //Priority Loop (Steppers)
  Timer1.attachInterrupt(ISR_stepperManager);

Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("Serial");

pinMode(E1_STEP_PIN, OUTPUT);   //Slide
  pinMode(E1_DIR_PIN, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(E1_ENABLE_PIN, OUTPUT);

pinMode(Z_MIN_PIN, INPUT);
  pinMode(Z_MAX_PIN, INPUT);
  digitalWrite(E1_DIR_PIN, LOW);
  digitalWrite(E1_ENABLE_PIN, LOW);

}

int mode = 0;
void loop() {

/**********************************
 * mode:# //stepping mode 2, 4, other = 1
 * speed:### //steps per second
 * s //what is the set speed
 */
  String incomingString = "";
  if (Serial.available() > 0)
  {