Keeping aerosol concentration low via a CO2 monitor

Hi everybody,

I’m fairly new to arduino (I have actually never done anything with Arduino so far), so I apologize in advance :slight_smile:

Discussing if it’s possible to keep class rooms and lecture halls safe in terms of keeping the probability for a corona-infection low, we came up with the idea to measure the CO2 concentration as this is proportional to the aerosol concentration in exhaled air (and aerosols are currently discussed to be responsible for further infections).

So I started with my first Arduino project ever (not even a single LED so far…) and came up with something that is working (see the picture). I uploaded everything to github, including a brief documentation and the program code.

Any comments, feedback or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

I came across your fascinating project to infer air quality / aerosol concentration
from CO2. I am planning to use your code to make indoor air-quality gizmos
for compact/tiny houses - which often have air quality issues due to inadequate
ventilation.
Have you done any verification on the actual correlation of aerosols to CO2 as measured
by your device ?
Is the "assumption" that the rate at which aerosols drop to the floor about the same
as the diffusion rate of CO2 out of the enclosed space ?

While poking around on the sparkfun site to check out the SCD30,
I also came across their SPS30 particulate matter sensor and thought
it might make a good complement to your project

Of course this presupposes you are not burning fuel of any sort in the area. :grinning:

You need to look at the figures for what the CO2 concentration would be - you could do some rough calculations assuming number of people, breathing rates, room ventilation rates etc.
There might be some information around on what others have done too .

For example :

I would do this first to see if it can be sensibly measured .